My telephone dialed 911 by itself…and didn’t stop!

via Phone dials 911 on its own, police come knocking on Ontario couple’s door – Toronto | Globalnews.ca

 

glennjudy

Several years ago our landline phone started dialing 911 by itself at about 2 am in the morning.  Naturally the Wauwatosa police department showed up and began pounding on our door in a very loud and insistent manner.  I was asleep and dead to the world so my wife decided to answer this scary and obnoxious inquiry.  The police wanted to come in and search the apartment and would not believe my wife that no one had called.  She called me by saying “Glenn could you please come here?”.  I responded by staggering into the living room half asleep in my underwear and saying “What the hell is it now!” in a rather loud voice.  I really didn’t expect two Wauwatosa police officers to be standing there with a belligerent attitude towards me.

The police finally believed our statements that no one had dialed 911 and suggested we have our phone inspected.  I disconnected the phone and thought that would stop the calls but that was not to be the case.  Our line kept calling 911. Apparently the problem was with the phone company and not with our phone.  Thank you ATT for a fun night .  The phone company couldn’t immediately figure out what was causing the errant 911 calls so we had no phone for a few days.  I believe I had to sign some kind of paper with the police that said they didn’t need to respond from any 911 calls from our phone.

The same thing can still happen with cell phones according to what I have read so don’t be quick to judge your neighbors if the police show up at their house at night.  It could happen to you too.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

