KIA Soul from Russ Darrow Wauwatosa Review.

We bought a KIA Soul from Russ Darrow Wauwatosa in 2015.  It is basically a good car with some problems.

The central control console goes totally blank on rare occasions except when it is at the dealership for maintenance.  You can still drive the Soul without a radio and back up camera but it is irritating.  I telephoned an adviser at Russ Darrow Wauwatosa while the car was still under warranty and he said he would make note of the problem so that I would still be covered if the problem persisted beyond the warranty limit. How nice I thought.

Now the warranty has expired but the problem still persists on a very infrequent basis.  Of course the new Russ Darrow adviser I talked to after warranty says there is no record of the promised note so they can’t make free warranty repairs.  I suppose I just can’t trust what a Russ Darrow adviser says on the telephone.  This will be the last KIA I buy from Russ Darrow.

If you do buy a car from Russ Darrow Wauwatosa I recommend against buying the maintenance package.  The prepaid coupon book is really not that impressive and they typically send out mailed coupons that seem to be just as good for free.

The actual car maintenance service work at Russ Darrow Wauwatosa is excellent.  They saved me a significant amount of money on my brake maintenance.  I had let the brakes go far too long without maintenance and they were able to salvage the situation.

The price on the KIA Soul was right for me when I bought it and it is a sturdy little car in most respects.  It is comfortable even for someone of my size and bulk in spite of its smaller size.  It is clearly well engineered ergonomically.  Any car can have a little bit of flaky electronics but usually the warranty period will catch problems of this type.  The problem I had with the central radio/back up control console happens too inconsistently to catch easily.  It hasn’t gone blank for several months now.

 

